As a user of Tellonym, you are able to block anybody if you don’t want to receive messages from them, don’t want them to interact with yourself or if there is any other reason. Due to the concept of Tellonym, there are two types of blocks.
The first type is the public block, where you just block another profile on Tellonym. You can do so by clicking on the three dots on the top of every profile.
If you create such public block for somebody, this person is not able to:
- write you Tells
- see your answers
- follow you
- see your activity status
In case of a public block, the blocked users know that you have blocked them.
The other type of block is the anonymous block. For every Tell you receive, you can block the sender. This disables the ability for this user to send you Tells. The user you blocked with an anonymous block won’t be able to see that you have blocked them and thinks he/she is still able to send you messages. They just don’t end up in your inbox. You can block the sender of a Tell by clicking on the three dots attached to every received Tell. At the same time, you are not able to see the name of the blocked sender.
You can disable all those blocks in your settings under “Blocked Users”. For every public block, it shows you the name of that person. For every anonymous block, it shows you the Tell where you blocked the sender.